fbpx
Sunday, June 13, 2021 | 01:10 am
blank

WWDC 2021: Watch Apple’s Next iOS, MacOS And M1 Reveals Live From Your Couch

0
WWDC 2021: Watch Apple’s Next iOS, MacOS And M1 Reveals Live From Your Couch

Apple used its spring event this year to announce the new M1 iPad Pro, a new M1-powered iMac, AirTags, and a purple iPhone 12. Soon we’ll learn about all the new things those gadgets will be able to do with Apple’s yearly torrent of free software updates: iOS 15, iPadOS 15, MacOS 12, WatchOS 8, and TVOS 15 (and maybe even HomeOS).

The tech giant plans to hold its all-digital Worldwide Developers Conference, or WWDC, online from June 7 to 11. The keynote address, likely led by CEO Tim Cook, will start at 10 a.m. PT Monday. Fans and developers alike will be able to watch online for free.

Last year, Apple announced a major change to its Mac computers, kicking off a transition in how they’re powered from Intel-made chips to chips designed by Apple’s in-house team. That group’s been building chips to power iPhones and iPads for more than a decade, and now Apple says those chips are capable enough to power computers too. So far, the new computers powered by the new M1 chip have received positive reviews for their long battery life and cooler feel. Despite the initial positive reception, industry watchers are anxious to see how those chips will power more performance-heavy computers. Apple could also use the event to announce its next-gen M2 chips.

We could also learn more about the next version of MacOS, but the biggest announcement out of the event will likely be iOS 15 and iPadOS 15, the latest annual update to the company’s software for iPhones and iPads. This time around, the software update, which is usually free and released alongside new iPhones in the fall, is rumored to change additional default apps, including new ways to handle app notifications and make its new small-app home screen widgets more interactive. (Currently, they update data, but typically a tap brings you into the app instead of letting you interact just through the widget.)

Apple’s online-only WWDC begins June 7 at 10 a.m. PT, 1 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. BST, and at 3 a.m. AEST on June 8. (Sorry, Australia.) Though Apple hasn’t officially announced whether CEO Tim Cook will headline the traditional opening keynote presentation, it would be a shock if he didn’t appear.

You’ll be able to stream Apple’s event straight from the company’s website.

73,275FansLike
389FollowersFollow
5,792FollowersFollow